Trailer of the Month

Monday, December 30, 2013

A Man from Nowhere

A Man from Nowhere is about a quiet, pawnshop broker with a mysterious past must take on a group of drug and organ dealers to save a little girl--who is his only friend.

Cha Tae-Sik (played by Bin Won of MOTHER) is living his life as a simple pawnshop broker in a quiet part of town. He wants to be left alone but this adorable little girl, So-Mi (played by Sae-Ron Kim from Can you Hear My Heart ), who's mother is a stripper and drug addict who by the way started this whole train going to hell to begin with by ripping off a drug drop. So-mi spends her time hiding from her abusive mother at Cha's place and painting his nail while he's asleep. She is so adorable.

Needless to say Cha goes on a rampage to find his little angel after she's taken by the drug dealers. He's calculated and methodical. He doesn't speak much with his lips but he has a way about him that makes the badguys quiver--not enough from stopping them from trying to kill him or pissing him off. They always end up paying for it in the end. This character is fabulous. His a mixture of Neo from the Matrix with kick ass martial arts abilities and the precision of trained killer. Then he looks at little So-mi and you can see his heart melts and something forms in his eyes and you melt right along with him. This movie was the first Korea movie I've seen so far that I have given five stars on Netflix. Why? I love it that much.  For those who love a good love story - this isn't that kind of movie. If you love blood and gore, knife wielding, gun brandishing, heads blowing off, blood spewing from amputation - then this movie is for you. If you're a girlie girl you may wanna go watch something else--something a little cutsie.

Bottom line, this movie is for all those action movie lovers with just the right hint of heart to make it sizzle and draw a few tears.

Bin Won
Sae-ron Kim

Hugs,
Kato

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Leave It On the Floor

When his homophobic mother kicks him out of the house, Bradley (played by Ephraim Sykes of Dance Flick, SMASH, 30 Rock ) falls in with the House of Eminence trying desperately to fit in and make the most of a bad situation. This movie started out breaking my heart. It had me wondering how a mother could treat her son so unfairly and full of hate. She called him a loser, and that was the last thing she said to him before he left the house with his things to live in his car.

Leave It On the Floor is an amazing movie full of music, heart break, love and so much soul. If you're not tapping your foot to the beat or wanting to get up and run-way walk through your room/house then you have no pulse. There is just something so catchy and endearing and just so spectacular about this movie and I don't precisely know what is it. It touched on the reality of some thugs who are out there, gay but has this reputation to uphold so they are on the down-low. It shows what happen when people lack respect for those around them and the repercussions of being young and foolish at times.

 This movie shows the ignorance that's in the world of people who can't put their hatred aside, even through loss and hardships. It's a sad narrative on the way most of us are; we see "gay" before "human."

 All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed Leave It On the Floor. I would highly recommend it. Oh and have a box of kleenex handy because you're going to cry, laugh, sing, dance--it's an amazing roller-coaster ride.

Hugs,
Kato

Monday, December 23, 2013

A Company Man

As you can see I found the foreign film section of Netflix and I've fallen heedlessly in love with the Korean movies.  All week I've been eyeing the poster on Netflix for A Company Man and with my schedule I just didn't have time to look at the movie much less watch the whole thing. But I've decided to start treating myself to some good views. I do pay for Netflix so I might as well make good use of it until GRUDGE MATCH comes out along with the new Riddick.

So, A Company Man stars So Ji-sub, Lee Mi-yeon, Kwak Do-won and Kim Dong-jun. When his new trainee gets killed on the job, an ambitious corporate assassin feels an obligation to take care of the kids family--but he takes his eyes off the ball and all hell is about to break lose.  

OMG! Where do I start!? There are so many deliciously good things about this movie I have no clue how to break it all down.

Oh first thing's first, this movie is IN Korean so you must be okay with reading subs to enjoy it.  But even having to read the subs did not take away from this movie. 

So this movie started out in a way that Hollywood movies wouldn't. We already know they'd start out in someone crap blowing up. But this is NOT a Hollywood movie--this was filmed in Korea. So their styles of making movies and writing is WAY different than ours. With that said, this movie blew me away at how intricate the story line is.  This company basically kills people, that's what they do undercover but above ground they're just a metal company. When Hyeong Do (played by Ji-Seob So) begins having second thought about his job and wants to get out of it, the people he's gotten close to are now in danger, right after they ordered him dead.  This movie doesn't have any high flying graphics but the action was amazing! Ji-Seob's character was so good. He plays the character perfectly--It was like Jason Statham meets Jackie Chan meets Rain meets Bad Ass and I loved it. 


The dead look in his eyes as he realized what he's been doing was wrong and the way it seems his soul was lost just broke my heart. Everything he did after that killed a little more of him, breaking him to the point where he just focused on his goal and kick some serious tail!

There were a few parts that had me blinking and going, "erm." But other than that I appreciate the closeness to real life. There were parts that made me cry and other parts had me giggling and going "awww."  The ending I appreciate though I would have liked to have seen a romantic connection but you will enjoy this movie.





hugs,
Kato

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Tidal Wave [Haeundae]

Professor Kim, a marine geologist, recognizes the impending danger of a mega tsunami headed straight for Haeundae, a popular vacation spot on the south coast of Korea. He desperately attempts to warn authorities and alert the unknowing vacationers of the 500 MPH destructive force of nature headed their direction

This movie was getting some pretty bad reviews on Netflix but I generally watch them stuff and make up my own mind about them.  This movie wasn't as bad as everyone else was saying. One moron gave it a one start review because he didn't "like reading the subtitles because then couldn't focus on the movie." That review doesn't exist to me because if they tell you the movie is in a different language, going in you should expect subtitles. I really don't understand people who watch foreign films then their biggest issue with the movie is the fact it is not voiced over in English.

So here's my take on this movie.

A South Korean scientist kept trying to warn everyone he could about what would happen if a piece of an island breaks off during seismic activities in Japan. He told them it could cause mega tsunami but no one would listen - not his colleagues or his ex-wife (mother to his daughter who didn't tell his daughter she had a father).  They
didn't declare a disaster in time and soon it was too late. A giant tsunami - I'm talking massive is bearing down on Korea and the town of Haeundae is right in its path.

To make matters worst, the characters are going through all manner of issues from one brother falling in love with a wealthy man's daughter and having Hench-men beat him up, to another who manages to cause this elder man to die and now must take care of the man's daughter and his son (who by the way the mother walked out of his life and left him to be a single father) and his mother is a certifiably nutso. Then he had to deal with his uncle, who's trying to buy him out so they can build some state of the art condo/mall thing on their land--their private lives were hell.

This movie doesn't deserve a one star rating.  Sure, its not perfect and not a five start but its a three star at best. The emotional journey these characters went on just broke my heart. It was written in a way that was so real. If someone got hurt too bad they died and some characters were created just to die - there was no other possible outcome if the story was to work. It was raw and scary and after a while I kept thinking "OMG these writers are trying to kill me!"

There was some laughter and a lot of tears but all in all it was a pretty decent movie.  There was a strange humanity about this piece that shocked me. The way it ended wasn't all nice and sweet. It was a sort of happy ending but not the kind you'd think. If you like disaster movies - not MILLION dollar movies but a good disaster movie with great acting and raw emotion then watch this.  You might just enjoy it.

Kato

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Bridesmaids

Bridesmaids (2011)Competition between the maid of honor and a bridesmaid, over who is the bride's best friend, threatens to upend the life of an out-of-work pastry chef - IMBD

I know, this movie came out in 2011 starring Melissa McCartney, Kristin Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Rebel Wilson, but I didn't believe in the hype of it. I mean gimme a break. I often times never watch these popular movies until long after the crazy behind the whole thing dies down. This movie was no different. Anyways, so I went in being highly skeptical about the whole thing and while I enjoyed it immensely, I didn't see what was such a huge deal about it. Sure, Melissa McCartney (Mike & Molly and The Heat) was hilarious and just priceless, and the storyline was somewhat original, but I'm not sure how Rebel Wilson's career took off after it for you barely saw her in the movie.

It was good for some laughs, of course, and some tears which brings me to the bit where Maya's character was supposed to be serious for a bit. I just...I don't know...I think the casting was a lil wonky there. I think Maya and Kristin should have switched characters. For some STRANGE reason, I cannot take Maya seriously at all. I am so used to seeing her in comedies.

But bottom line, would I watch this movie with a bunch of my girls while drinking wine and eat junk? Hell to the yes! It is just that funny.

Kato




Tuesday, November 26, 2013

[New Show] Almost Human

Once again, FOX has managed to developed a show with RAW potential. Almost Human stars Michael Ealy (Underworld Awakening and Sleeper Cell) plays a DRN Android name Dorian and Karl Urban (Star Trek and Dredd - Just in case you didn't see DREDD because you just KNEW like me it would SUCK he was also BLACK HAT in the movie Priest) plays Detective John Kennex. Not really sure how they came up with that lastname because it is a tad strange but it works. The show is about in the future where human cops must work with an Android partner.  Right off the bat, this show start in your face and rough--gun battle, cop being tough headed (well duh! Without a hard-nosed cop who isn't afraid to break the rules to get the job done, the show wouldn't work). The one thing that bothered me at the beginning was they explained why the detective dislikes Android in the first few minutes. If you don't pay attention you could quite possibly miss the reason but its there.

Anyways, Detective Kennex wakes up after about a year and a half in a coma. They went into a bust, turns out it was a trap and his whole team gets whacked, including his partner who he blames an Android for leaving them there to die.  Anyways, he wakes up and they tell him he MUST get a partner--an ANDROID partner. He is not pleased and the first partner met with an...er...untimely demised after he took a dive out of a speeding car. They then gave him a new Android partner since no other Android partners were available and it is one of the "crazy ones" as Kennex called them--a DRN model. These were made to be as HUMAN as possible. Which meant they can process feelings, has free will (to certain degrees). Apparently the DRN Dorian went buck while a while back and some bad shiz happened.

Now I waited until after two episodes to write this and even after then I was on the fence about writing it yet. I wanted to wait until after the third episode. But I decided to write this since I have to PVR the next episode because I might be working.  Anyways, here is what I think.

Almost Human has REAL potential. This show had me laughing so hard sometimes I find I had a tear in my eyes; especially when Kennex say things like "Never scan my balls again!" But the show also has heart-break and sadness and evil - I know it's only two episodes in but trust me. If you like this kind of look at the world--at what would happen if we gave over total control to robots - I mean these Androids make decision based on calculations and not heart - hence why Kennex's partner died. Think of the iRobot effect and the three laws. Only, these robots don't seem to have those three laws.

The first time I saw the commercial for this show, I wasn't entirely sold on Karl Urban. Let's face, it I don't remember him doing a TV show before and the first time I ever took notice of him was in Star Trek (though I loathe to acknowledge the existence of this movie). But he plays Bones in it then again in PRIEST and in that I wanted to strangle him because he was  bad guy. Karl Urban - Detective Kennex - is great as the tall, dark, handsome and deeply flawed character. I rather enjoy is brooding, his snappy come-backs and his bad-boy, rouge cop attitude. His has a leg that keeps talking and I wish he'd finish charging the thing, at least to make it shut up lol. Watch the show--you'll see what I'm talking about.

Michael Ealy - Plays Dorian-the first time I saw this man I couldn't help thinking what beautiful eyes he has. To be quite honest, he was the one character in the commercials that drew me to the show. The first time I noticed this actor was in Barbershop as Ricky Nash. And then from time to time I would be watching something like The Good Wife or Hawthorne and he'd pop up and I remember him but didn't really know what his name was until I used him as inspiration for a
novel I am currently working on. He plays a fan-tabulous DRN and I was pleasantly surprised how well he plays off Karl Urban.

Okay, so he makes a great DRN like I said. He seems to put Kennex in his place and that is something that comes as a fresh air and is needed. He isn't stuffy but for some reason just brings off an air of authenticity that I never expected.

All in all, I am enjoying Almost Human. There is something very, utterly original about the whole thing. The casting is great. While the captain is a woman, and I dig that - I am not wild about her. She has no personality and is a little stiff. Though she is written as a no-nonsense woman with a heart, it doesn't really come off because her smiles don't seem genuine.

So I will be keeping my eyes on him.

Minka Kelly (Gabby in Parenthood) is in it as Detective Stahl - I think she's going to be Kennex's love interest--I think...so far, I am not sure what I think of her character. I have to wait a few more before I can size her up.

So, yes, that was a little on the long side but I am enjoying this new show. Let's hope FOX keeps it around, but we have to wait and see.

Hugs,
Kato




Saturday, November 23, 2013

What's Your Number?

A romantic comedy starring Anna Faris (The House Bunny) is a woman looking back at the past twenty men she's had relationships with in her life and wonders if one of them
might be her one true love.

This movie also stars Chris Evans (Captain America) which I have to admit is a perfect pairing because the two flows off each other amazingly. 

Now the movie is a simple enough concept and I have to admit I never want to see Anna Faris playing a serious role because it wouldn't sit well especially after The House Bunny. Sure, this movie isn't a stroke of genius. It's your typical romcom that you can pretty much tell how it's going to end (maybe it's the romance author in me but I could see the ending the moment Chris Evan's character, Colin, is introduced. 

The bottom line is, I didn't expect Citizen Kane brilliance. I expected a few laughs, a few moment when I cringed and think was that TRULY necessary?  and other moments where I just shook my head with a quick roll of my eyes. Though I have to say strip basketball was something I never thought of before.   What I expected going in was what I got from this movie. I was shocked at a few more laughs than I expected but that is always a good thing. For the holidays or if you're stuck in an airport because they decided your flight is going to be late or your plane hasn't even arrived yet, this won't be a waste of time - it would be an amusing pass time.

Hugs,
Kato

Monday, November 4, 2013

Can't Curry Love

**LGBT MOVIE**

A handsome East Indian from London visits India, falls for a local guy, meets a trans-gendered 'hijra', and discovers a country he only thought he knew - IMDB

This is a short I found on youtube but I had to watch it. It's not at all ike Cinderfella or even anything I've seen before. I don't think it's right to call it a movie because it was only about twenty five minutes. You have to go into it and take it for what it really is. It's funny and cultural and romantic.  The thing about this little flick is, it was long enough to make me wonder about the characters, like his boss, or the trans-gendered encounter. It had the ability to be a much better full length film. I hope they consider it.

Anyways, awesome short.

Kato

Friday, November 1, 2013

Handsome Harry

**LGBT movie**

An ex-Navy man carrying out the last wish of a dying shipmate renews contact with old friends to break the code of silence around a mysterious, long-buried crime. IMDB.

For months since I signed up for Netflix, I've been seeing this movie in my recommended movies. I'm not particularly sure why because well, I hadn't at the time watched any LGBT movies on Netflix. But since it was still in my list, and it was scoring four and five star ratings and reviews I thought I should check it out.

Well, it was a waste of time. I'm watching this movie thinking, come on! Give me something! One girl said how it was a testament to human nature and our society and I'm watching this movie thinking what a load of crap! I continued to the very end of the movie thinking it just HAD to get better. I was wrong.  So it is about a man, seems to be a lady's man in the small town, who left his life in the navy behind and seemed to be doing quite well until his old navy buddy is on his death bed calls him.  So it sends him hurtling back to this night when they all beat the crap out of another sailor because he was gay. Okay, good premise so far right? Here's where the wheels fall off - or started to fall off - Harry goes to meet with his friend who quickly dies then sets off on a mission to get his friend (or himself) forgiveness. It's not clear which.

The movie was one big musical montage of sorts--at least it was good music--but he spent the whole movie driving from one state to another, finding these old Navy buddies who hates his guts - one guy was wealthy but disowned his son because his son is gay, then the man's wife left with Harry who spends a night in a hotel with her making love - I was so put off by this I almost stopped watching. Then one is now a born again Christian who in the middle of Harry asking about what happened back then tells Harry to "give your life to Jesus." I know it was a serious moment but the way he said it and the way it happened I burst out laughing.

Anyways, the movie was horrible. No one learned anything from any of it-not their actions in the past and not the life they were living. They all grew up to be well to do people who are miserable human beings. They were hollow and superficial almost as if the writer didn't bother digging into their lives and putting it on the screen. I was left feeling ripped off and outright irritated I'd wasted so much of my life watching the movie and got nothing from it.

By the time the movie ended I seriously wanted to cry because it was like watching the ending to THE SOPRANOS all over again. I was left falling off a cliff with not proper closure of anything which a movie like Handsome Harry should have.  The two saving graces--well three--were Steve Buscemi (the creepy guy singing He's got the Whole World in Con Air and from Boardwalk Empire) but he was only in the movie for a grand total of like five minutes and Jamey Sherridan (The captain from Law and Order: Criminal Intent and Robert Queen from The Arrow) who plays Harry. Then there was the music -- Amazing, AHH-mazing music. I was happy to see Campbell Scott (he plays(ed) Boris Kuester von Jurgens-Ratenicz in Royal Pains) in it as the older version of the kid they beat up. Both he and Jamey gave me some older man eye candy so that was good as well.

Bottom line, don't waste your time.

Campbell Scott - as David Kagan - the victim in Handsome Harry


Kato


Wednesday, September 25, 2013

[New Show] Sleepy Hollow

Normally, I would wait until after a couple of episodes before writing something like this but I'm not sure if I'm liking this show or hating it or just mildly amused by it. The story of Sleepy Hollow and the headless horseman and Icabod Crane has always been a favorite of mine. When I began hearing mutterings of them making it into a TV show I was for it--surprisingly--when I heard it was being developed for FOX, my heart broke. You see, FOX has this habit of discontinuing television shows that has promise but are either too cheap or too impatient to back. Want proof? One word FIREFLY. Enough said. Anyways, I ramble.

Now back to Sleep Hollow.

The story is modern take on the classic we know. Icabod Crane (Tom Mison - Secret Diary of a Call Girl) dies during a mission for George Washington (yes, THAT George Washington). He gets into a fight with this beast looking red coat and though he wound up killing said beast, he died from a blow from the beast. He awakens in 2013 in the Town of Sleepy Hollow and so does the Headless man he "killed" in about 1703.

This is something Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie - Woman Thou Art Lose: On the 7th Day) doesn't need. But when her and her partner gets a call out and her partner ends up being beheaded by a headless man with an axe - there is no way she is going to join the FBI in Quantico now.

So this is where the story is.

This section could contain spoiler so stop reading here if you haven't watch the first episode yet and intend to.

Apparently her and Icabod are put together to now solve the strange happenings of the small town and try to keep the world from ending by the arrival of the Four horse men of the apocalypse. There are a few noted names in the first episode that did not make it to the end of the episode and this includes John Cho (yes, that John Cho from Star Trek as Mr Sulu. But most notably from the Harold and Kumar franchise.) It shocked me to see that John plays a bad guy who ended up with a broken neck in the end by some strange, axe-headed thingie before Icabod and Abbie could question him. He was actually working WITH the headless horseman, which kind of made no sense to me because the horseman was awakened with Icabod so when did he get time to turn a human? Or was the character human or something else?

Now, here's where I get a little iffy on this new series:

Issue #1 - While as an aspiring actress myself, and I support giving new actors a start, it is strange to expect a show like this to survive with relative unknowns. Nicole Beharie who plays Abbie was only in one show I've heard of and Tom Mison was in a host of things but nothing really notable except the Call Girl TV show that didn't really survive that long. They tossed in John Cho but he was dead by the end of the episode and then there's Orlando Jones who plays their Captain. He was in Drumline, Madtv, The Boondocks. But I don't his star power is strong enough to save this show from FOX's axe. I am worried it will not make it so I wouldn't get too attached.

Issue # 2: This show is on FOX.

I will watch the second episode and see what I think. I wouldn't write it off either. It has promise but lets face it, as the guys from Terra Nova, Firefly and the numerous other shows that didn't make the FOX grind can tell you, no show is safe.  But a little tip, do not watch this show online. They have to count your viewership. If you watch it online it does not count (maybe on the FOX website it might count).

Anyways, check it out. It has mystery, creeps and Icabod is not bad to look at.

hugs,
Kato


Sunday, September 22, 2013

Bones - Season Premier - *YAWN*

Finally! After almost a week of avoiding all my friends who watch Bones I finally caught it on a rerun. And the series premier had me shaking my head thinking stinking Pelant is starting to piss me off! And WTF is up with him and clocks?

So here's the run down of where they ended off last season. So Bones proposed, Booth said yes then Pelant calls and their world went downhill...AGAIN...this means he forces Booth to change his mind about marrying Bones who can't tell he why or Pelant will find 5 random people and whack 'em. So now Bones doesn't know why Booth suddenly changed his mind about marrying her and she is upset, questioning everything, their whole partnership--its not going to be pretty when Booth gets his hands on Pelant.

The season premier was filled with temper, anger, hatred and all around misery. Now here's where I say if you haven't watched the season premier yet and you ARE going to watch it, on your PVR or on Netflix later stop reading now. I'm serious, skip to the next review...one moe chance.... 

Still here? Cool beans. 

So Booth and Bones around each other and not talking is painful. It's almost heart wrenching when they go to solve the case of the guy who wound up dead in a giant industrial fan and have to work together. Cam tries talking to Booth, who swiftly told her to mind her own business, Angela tried working with Booth but only wound up screaming at him because he's breaking Bones' heart and should be ashamed of himself. I almost stopped watching it was so painful.

Booth and Bones try to have lunch together but you could have cut the tension with a knife.

Still, Booth tries to get Bones to go with him to the victim's place for a second visit but she tells him to take Sweets who wound up getting kicked on his behind by a random stranger in a grey suit who turned out to be a CIA agent and ex military from Booth's past and they seemed to be friendly! And you will NEVER guess who that agent was!

Now if you don't know who this guy is, it's not your fault. He hasn't been doing much since his days as a heart-throb in movies like She's All That, I know What You Did Last Summer, I STILL Know What You Did Last Summer and a bunch of other teenie, early twenties kind of deal movies. But this is Freddie Prinze Jr. aka Mr. Sarah Michelle Gellar (Buffy Summes from Buffy the Vampire Slayer - the series. The truth is when I saw him in this episode of Bones all I could think was OMG! Freddie got HOT! lol. 

But back to Bones, for those of us who still heart this man hard, the victim's apartment was scrubbed - CIA style - and Freddie's character is the one who they sent to do it. I know what you're asking. You're screatching her head at this very moment wondering what the CIA had to do with Booth and why this victim? Well my very amazing friends, they were involved because somehow the victim works or worked for the CIA and since they couldn't confirm nor deny we've watched enough movies and TVshows to know that is always code for he did work for them lol. Anyways, some say this episode was just to set up Freddie as a regular character in season 9 of the hit show.  It was a weird way to introduce a new character to show him twice in the episode for a grand total of about five minutes all together then expect people to want to see him for the rest of the season. I'm not sure what to make of that. Maybe they have a plan or maybe they just didn't know what else to do and decided to just, throw it out there and see what bounces back. 

In the end, Freddie aka Mr. CIA owes Booth a favour (Which I couldn't understand how that happened that the big bad wolf of a CIA now owes Booth a favour) but I guess we'll find out what that means later.

But, Bones, pissed off that Booth didn't want to marry her, tries to make sense of it all and tries using science to say Booth has fallen out of love with her and was going to strip clubs. Everyone around her thought it was laughable until she handed them proof--a match book from a place called Paradise Lost. Turns out its a bar owns by one of Booth friends, a ex priest turned bartender who Booth still confesses to even though he is no longer a priest (Mather Zickel) and think Booth holding the secret that Pelant is blackmailing him is a bad idea. 

Eventually, a woman's intuition won out and Bones goes to Paradise Lost and had a good talk with the ex-priest. Now, Bones and Booth have an understanding. Bones agrees to wait until Booth was ready. 

My overall take of this - I was not a major fan of this episode. Yes, parts of it was well written but I think there was a better way to get Freddie's character in there without the way he was introduced. I mean really? Who are they fooling? Booth chases a CIA agent, corners him in an empty school bus, both pointing guns at each other, had a few words, both put their guns away and CIA agent runs away and Booth just lets him! I mean in some ways I understand since they knew each other and Booth has had dealings with the CIA before he probably knew questioning this agent was a job infutility and he just didn't have the patience for it. But either way, it could have been done better.

The Pelant story is getting severely old. I've spoken to a few people who felt the same way I felt at the end of the episode. If they're going to run this Pelant story for the whole whole season I won't be watching it. I mean how long can they go on with it?  The writers of this arc is asking too much. Think about it...they expect us  to believe that Booth is a kick ass sniper--what are the chances he's going to shoot at serial killer who framed his woman for murder, tortured his friends and committed numerous murders and only catch a part of him? Let's be real here. If you're going to write a character to be such a bad ass, he's not going to miss, moving target or not. Let's be real here - Snipers don't shoot to maim because they are the last resort. Snipers shoot to kill and the good ones, like Booth don't miss from such a short distance.

Still....Okay, I'll bite. 

But there is only so much suspension of my belief I'm willing to divulge here. I am quickly running out of patience with the writers in this show. They know what the fans have come to expect and dragging this story on for more than another episode or two is just asking for trouble. So with that said, I say this, the fans these days are like kids with ADHD - if they can't get satisfaction from your show, they're going to get it from somewhere else. And Sleep Hollow is shaping up to be one helluva show. So guys move on, Pelant is an ass, we get it...that gravy train is swiftly pulling into the station, move on already!

Hugs,
Kato


Saturday, September 21, 2013

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is a movie about a group of British seniors who, for one reason or another, get to retirement age and realises, oh snap! We don't have enough money for retiremen. They all see this ad about a hotel in India called The Best Marigold Hotel and decides, this paradise is where their retirement funds can be stretched to give them a wondeful rest of their lives.

The moment I first saw the commercial or this movie, I wanted to watch it. I'm not sure why. I've never been a huge fan of Judi Dench--I mean I never disliked her, it's just that I didn't seek out he movies to watch. I know her from being James Bond's handle in the new movies, and again as a Dame but she wasn't an actress I was goo-goo over. And I didn't know Bill Nighy (Viktor from Undeworld: Rise of the Lycans and Slartibartfast from Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy) and I definitely didn't know Dev Patel (Jamal of Slum Dog Millionaire and Prince Zuko in The Last Airbender) was in it. But from watching the previews I was absolutely enamoured with this premise. Maybe I'm biased because I love travel and the idea of picking up everything and just going somewhere to start over after your curent life just keeps kicking you in the grapes.  But for whatever reason I never got around to seeing the movie. After getting Netflix, it kept popping up in the recommended movies because I watched a part of another movie Late Bloomers that I just couldn't get through. 

So finally, I gave in, clicked on it and watched.

First let me say this. There were parts of this movie that was slow--and I'm not talking about a beautiful stillness I found in Ciao -- this was slow as in they could have edited out that bit. But those moments were few so its still a worthy, funny and heart-wrenching movie to watch.

The characters in this movie are many so I'm just going to push the main ones for length state and to avoid giving away too many spoilers.

Evelyn Geenslade (Judi Dench) just lost her husband and gets the shock of her life when she finds out he's heavily in debt. Not only that, in order to settle it, she has to sell the house she raised he family in to settle said debts, her son is taking control of everything and talking about her to the real estate agent as if she's not even in the room. She'd be damned if she goes to live with him like he planned and she'd be doubly damned if she allowed him to take care of things like his father did.

Then there's Graham Dashwood (The Lone Ranger, Batman Begins) a court judge who is tired of the retirement parties and the pretentious speeches they do every--single-time someone is retiring. He's in the middle of one when all the suffocating bullshit of these speeches and fake smiles applauds got too much and he merely lifted his hands and walks away.  As a young man he lived in India and has his secrets buried deep inside about why he's going back.

Douglas Ainslie (Bill Nighy) is married to Jean (Penelope Wilton - Isobel Crawley in Downton Abbey, Harriet Jones Doctor Who) and lord have mercy I felt sorry for poor Douglas. His wife Jean nagged, and complained, and bitched and OMG! This is a woman who tells him that "if she wants your opinion, I'll give it to you" when all he did was bend over backwards to please her. They are in India because well, Douglas' daughter wanted start up funds for a .com company so he leant her his and Jean's life savings expecting a good return on the money. The company didn't lift off the ground. So he's in his own version of hell on earth.

Muriel Donnelly (played by Maggie Smith, Mother Supeior from Sister's Act and Violet Crawley Downton Abbey) is a racist who after years of taking care of a household in England as her job, they hired a newer model and thanked he for her services. Now she needs a new hip and the doctor told her the best place she can get this done, cheaply and quicker was India. Oh the humanity!

Then there's the horny old man who just wanted to feel young again and the grand mother, tired of being treated like a babysitter to her grandchildren, who just want to be loved again.

The story picks up greatly in India at this hotel that isn't this grand, amazing, palace like the ad said. The phones don't work, most of the rooms have no doors and there are birds sleeping in some of them. They meet Sonny (Dev Patel) who is a dreamer - who sees the bright side of life always even though nothing ever went as he planned and he never succeeded at anything but he needs the Marigold Hotel to succeed because if it it doesn't he cant marry Sunaina (Tena Desae), the absolute love of his life because his mother will never allow it and he'll disgrace both Sunaina and his mother by being a failure.

Though The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel didn't get too deeply into Indian culture, they did touch on the Untouchables and what happens after you bring dishonour to your family. It's a heartbreaking concept that still happens there. And I was glad they at least touched on that part of the many other aspects of Indian culture.

This is a movie with a little of everything-love, sadness, arrange marriages, gay love and death. It is a spectacular vision of Indian sunsets and tuk-tuks and the speed and craziness of the rush of the country. It is a movie to move you, make you laugh then sob like a fool when the world has finally betrayed Sonny and he just let it all hang out there. It is a tale of second chances and finding love and adoration in the strangest places.

Though some parts, as I said before, could have been tightened up a little or deleted, this movie is still a classic and I know you check it out. You will not be disappointed.

Hugs,
Kato

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

EAT PRAY LOVE

After her divorce, Elizabeth (played by Julia Roberts) realizes that her life is in a rut and decides she is going to drop everything and travel to Italy, India and Bali to find balance and hopefully grow into the person she's supposed to m.

The honest truth is this movie for me had a whole lot of things going against it in my books. When I first heard it was being made from a book I might want to read some day, I frowned. Strike one! Movie makers these days have a tendency of screwing up books they turn into films.  Then Javier Bardem is in it - Strike two! I don't know why but to me Javier Bardem is just one of those actors I just can't seem to get into when I think of him. I have to take him on a role by role scenario.  And it didn't help that when I saw that the only thing I could think was omigawd! Another Vicky Cristina Barcelona--barf! But I have Netflix (one of the greatest inventions EVER!) and I can watch what I want when I want and I'm not sure what got into me but I was taking a break from writing a novel I've been working on (one of my characters is in a coma - gasp! The Horror!) and thought I'd give this movie a look see.

Brilliant, brilliant movie!

Ok, first off she traveled to all these exotic places that I've always wanted to visit. I have a friend who lives in Paris so Italy is on my list--it is TOPS on my list of places to go. Then India--even though things aren't quite copacetic there at the moment its still on my list. Bali isn't but after this movie, it's on there. That was how they reeled me into this movie. But I also love stories about how women get back on their feet after being kicked in the throat (aka divorced). I mean, I cannot IMAGINE rolling over one night and stare into my husband's face and think holy crap! Who are you? 

The characters she comes across in her travels are rich and fragrant - I know it sounds weird to describe fictional characters I cannot touch or for this matter fragrant but its the only word I could think of. Perhaps its because I'm a writer but they gave off an air of authenticity and usefulness. None of them were in the story just to be there--they all contributed in their own way to Liz's life and her search.

Eat Pray Love is breath-taking in the scenery as well as story and it will hold you from the first scene to the very last. It will break your heart then slowly mend it and you will not even know its happening.

This is what I look for in these kind of movies--something that will help me grow and seek out my own personal word. 

Feeling like your life is stuck? I know it's just a movie but watch it--you'll see what I mean.

Oh and PS? If you do watch it after feeling stuck, come right back here and tell me how you feel.

Hugs,
Kato

Ciao

**Please note this movie is LGBT**

When Mark (played by Chuck Blaum) dies, his best friend Jeff (played by Adam Neal Smith) must now pick up the pieces, make sure all arrangements are made and the people in Mark's life who'd fallen by the wayside know of his death. Upon going through Mark's things, Jeff finds out that Mark has been corresponding with Andrea (played by Alessandra Calza) an Italian Graphic Designer he met online for over a year and was planning on meeting for the first time before his death. It is now Jeff's sad duty to email this poor guy in Italy and inform him of Mark's untimely demise.

Wow. First of all let me say if you're looking for crazy sex scenes etc, this is not the movie for you....But if you want a movie that will make you feel things--grab some Kleenex because you're going to need it.

I've had the displeasure of watching some HORRID gay movies in my time like Shut Up and Kiss Me - I don't know what I was thinking with that one. I thought it was good okay? I mean with a name like that how could they screw it up so badly? Anyways, let's move on to my happy place. Recently I've come across a few that keeps me coming back to the genre. Movies like I Do and big Eden are just priceless gems. Add this one to that list! This movie had me bringing out the kleenex and the junk food. It was heartbreaking in all the best ways!  The movie isn't bogged down with wild music or crazy sounds. It seemed all natural with piano where needed.

Sometimes the dialogue was a little bit much but those times were quickly forgotten when they get into the good stuff, like memories of Mark and the way Andrea and Jeff seems around each other leaves an air of truth. This movie had a strange, yet beautiful stillness about it. It was as if the places within the film, where the character Mark was happiness took on a whole new meaning for Jeff and Andrea and they were places the two men could go, shut out the world, the noise and the chaos of the world and simply, be. 

The scene where Jeff stood outside watering Mark's plants even though Mark's gone and then the realization that this spot, this moment was once Mark's -- was completely life altering. The first time Andrea entered Mark's bedroom physically though he'd seen it so many times in pictures was poignant for it dawns on him, if Mark was alive, they'd be there together. These are the places, Andrea and Jeff can see and feel Mark still.

The ending will absolutely make you think - you feel every raw emotion there and you wish--just so the characters would smile it would end differently. But you know, perhaps it is the writer in me, but I knew there was no other possible way for this movie to end, than how it did.

This movie is a wonderful testament to the human's ability to love and be loved in returned. It shows our insecurities about the things we believe our loved ones would never understand if we told them, though these things are not as horrible as not having us in their lives. It shows how two people, who've never met before, can come together because of one reason to work for one goal--closure and solace with each other.

The secondary characters were few but still left an impact. Though you only hear Andrea's mother's voice she is one character I'll never forget because she's like any Italian and Jamaican mother *love* and Jeff's sister - Sometimes the secondary characters can eat away at the story and make it all about them. Not this time.

Ciao is heartbreaking, uplifting, sad, happy all these emotions wrapped into one big bundle of a great movie. And if you look real hard, you may be able to learn a few lessons in it.

Hugs,
Kato


Sunday, September 15, 2013

Seducing Mr Perfect aka Seducing Mr. Robin

 Seducing Mr Perfect AKA Seducing Mr Robin is a South Korean movie written and directed by Sang Woo Kim. It stars Uhm Jung-Hwa and Daniel Henney (Hawaii Five-O, X-Men Origins: Wolverine).  It's about a woman Min Joon (Played by Uhm Jung-Hwa) who believes completely in true love but the she has horrid luck with men. Enters the sexy and wealthy Robin Heiden (played by Daniel Henney) and things in Min Joon's life begins spiralling hilariously out of control!

First let me say, boredom led me to this movie because if I hadn't gotten home and spent two hours scrolling through three hundred channels with nothing to watch, writer's block kicking my butt and a tension headache the size of New Amsterdam threatening to drive me insane, I wouldn't have gone looking for a movie to watch. Finding Seducing Mr Perfect made me so happy--it was like finding out G Dragon (Big Bang) made a song called Niliria with Missy Misdemeanor Elliot. That means I was flailing happy. It was super-fun-happy-time! lol. Anyways, I adore everything Asian media (when it comes to movies, dramas, music - that kind of media). At first I saw the name and thought - here we go--another blase boring romance movie! 

Boy was I wrong. 

I was laughing from the very beginning of this movie and couldn't stop. From the first scene this movie is filled with cute heartbreak and tons of laughter. Daniel Henney (with his sexy-fine self) did not disappoint and thought I found myself thinking Le Gasp! What a jerk! It wasn't in a "I want to punch him in the throat" kind of jerk but a "Giggling while shaking my head" kind of jerk. I have no better way to explain this movie.

Though I find it was a little slow at one point, the rest of the movie flowed seamlessly and left me feeling fulfilled and happy. The music throughout this movie as well was another shock--for it was great music as though they actually planned it! *Gasp! What a concept!*

Still, this movie is something to be seen if you liked I'm a Cyborg But it's Okay. And I can't end without speaking of the secondary characters. They gave his movie a sense of added originality and air I've never seen before in a South Korean comedy. They were real and true and so deliciously quirky, I wonder how one person could write all of them. 

I enjoyed this movie. Now, I must go drink some water. My laugh headache hurts! lol

hugs,
Kato


Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Showcase Strikes again! - King and Maxwell

After finding out that a show that I got into DO NO HARM was cancelled by NBC after the second episode but they kept running it just to show all the episodes they made, I got so mad. NBC is right up there with FOX when it comes to cancelling television show before fighting for them to live. Remember Firefly the best Sci-fi television show since the ORIGINAL Star Trek.  My hatred for the new Trek movies is for another post all together because that post will be ripe with cuss words that I will probably have to make up.  But anyways, I digress.

Canada's SHOWCASE TV seem to be hitting the nail on the head when it comes to character driven programming that no other station seems to carry. From World Without End to Copper  and in some cases Lost Girl (my disappointment in that television show has everything to do with their latest poster of BO in the subway stations  here in Toronto bothers the hell out of me because of what that little thing says to young girls) and of course Defiance - they seem to find some of the best shows to broadcast. They kind of let me down with most of the last couple of seasons of Beauty and the Beast but that's just me. Still, they did it again with their newest addition of King and Maxwell.

Let me start out by saying this - While sometimes characters need to be serious and some television shows are just built to rip your heart on it, stomp on it, run it over with a track, stop then back up over it, there are other shows that lighten the air while tossing in a bit of drama.

I love a television show who have characters who aren't the same old, same old. I love quirky and chemistry. I love character dynamics like Derick Morgan with Penelope Garcia, Gibbs and Abbey, Rizzoli and Isles - I love characters who play off each other and seem to genuinely like each other - not only as characters but it seem they like each other off screen.

Rebecca Romijn (the former Mrs. Stamos) plays Michelle Maxwell along side Jon Tenney (Longmire, The Closer) who plays Sean King. Now I waited two whole episodes before I wrote this. Normally I would wait a bit longer but so far I am not disappointed in this show. According to IMBD here is the blurb for the show: Sean King and Michelle Maxwell aren't your typical pair of private investigators. Both are former Secret Service agents, and their unique skill set (not to mention their razor-sharp chemistry) often gives them a leg up on both suspects and conventional law enforcement. 

It is not as droll as it sounds. From the very first episode, the lines have been drawn with what characters I liked and which ones I wanted to put in front of a speeding train. Harsh, yes I know but these two FBI agents in the show makes a person feel that way.  

I think one other thing I should mention is Ryan Hurst (Opie of Sons of Anarchy) as Edgar Roy - Now this character is spectacular. He is an adult with a high sort of Autism. He is GREAT with numbers, remembers things no one else could possibly remember but I adore this character so deeply! His performance is gold and puts a smile on my face every time.

Now, while I do not think this show will make it past the 10 episodes that's been schedule, I really hope it will. Why I say I don't think it will last? Well television stations deal in ratings. King and Maxwell is one of those shows that young people probably will not like. But Showcase TV has a knack for saving things, giving shoes and actors a chance for their fans to pay attention and get into it. If Beauty and the Beast lasted as long as it has, I'm holding out hope this spectacular gem of King and Maxwell will make it. 

Bottom line? King and Maxwell is a gem of a television show with comedy, chemistry, action, espionage and the hankering for a partner love story. It reminds me of Sue Thomas F.B Eye (which I miss severely. I am still disappointed with how it ended). It is one of those television shows not many people know about--but if you know who David Baldacci is, you should check out the books. I know what's going to be on my Christmas book list! (yeah yeah I'm a book nerd too).

Hugs,
Kato




Saturday, July 27, 2013

My Top 5 Old school Action flicks!

The other day my niece came over and I was stunned when I made a Commando joke and she had no idea what I was talking about. I blinked at her in disbelief before going to Netflix and looking up Commando with Arnold Schwarzenegger aka The Govenator and Alyssa Milano and off we got to watch it. While I watched the familiar antics of Arnie and the stupid bad guys who would dare mess with him and his daughter - I mean the man is ex-military, built like a brick house and with a last name of MATRIX!

Anyways, it all got me thinking of my top five old school action movies. So here goes.


5. Platoon - A young recruit in Vietnam faces a moral crisis when confronted with the horrors of war and the duality of man - (IMDB). Sure it's not really action, action per say but come on. This had to be on my list somewhere.









4. Commando - A retired elite Black Ops Commando launches a one man war against a group of South American criminals who have kidnapped his daughter to blackmail him into starting a revolution and getting an exiled dictator back into power - (IMDB)....Nuff said.








3. True Lies - Harry Tasker is a secret agent for the United States Government. For years, he has kept his job from his wife, but is forced to reveal his identity and try to stop nuclear terrorists when he and his wife are kidnapped by the terrorists - (IMDB)This movie had it all. Action, comedy and Arnie! Then to top it all off Jamie Lee Curtis is in it! She had me rolling.






2. Under Seige - A former SEAL, now cook, is the only person who can stop a gang of terrorists when they seize control of a US Navy battleship - (IMDB)This was Steven Seagall's best movie EVAR! I mean come on, this was before they allowed Stevie boy to write and direct his own crap. Now his movies just suck! And to make it better? Tommy Lee Jones was in it as the crazy bad guy! Oh! And don't forget Gary Busey in a dress - come on! What beats that?






1. Enter the Dragon - A martial artist agrees to spy on a reclusive crime lord using his invitation to a tournament there as cover - (IMBD) - Come on - It's Bruce Lee! I mean sure Chuck Norris is the master but without Mr. Lee there'd be no What Would Chuck Norris Do! *runs around doing karate chops*

The Heat

An uptight FBI Special Agent is paired with a foul-mouthed Boston cop to take down a ruthless drug lord. - IMDB

This movie stars Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy with Marlon Wayans. The first time I saw the trailer for this was last Valentine's Day when I went to watch A Good Day to Die Hard. Not sure why I chose to go see that movie on opening day and probably will never do that again. There were couples everywhere. But this isn't about that movie it's about The Heat 

The first time I saw the trailer, the whole theater was laughing so hard. I was doubled over and I could barely breathe it was hilarious. Then every time after that the reaction was the same. Then the movie came out and I waited to see it. I wound up seeing it with my 14 year old niece, my friend Jo Jo and one of her friends. The movie didn't disappoint. It had me laughing from the opening credits.  So here's the run down--Special Agent Ashburn (Sandra Bullock) is one of those agents all the other agents hate. She tries to give the SWAT team direction and they merely ignore her and barged into the bust. She wants to get far in her career so her personal life takes a hit--a major hit.  Then there's Detective Mullins (Melissa McCarthy) who is rough, from the streets, dresses like a hippie-Rambo with a rocket launcher in her fridge. She is the kind of cop who swears up a blue streak, downs tequila like its water and has the temper to match.

This movie was hilarious with heart. There was a serious story line in there that I can't talk about because I don't want to give it away. But this movie was great. Not perfect because there were a few things I could mention that made me wonder why it wasn't edited out. But think, two women carrying a movie isn't all that popular these days so to see this made me nervous going in but there was no need to. It was 6 bucks well spent and I am definitely going to see it again the minute I get a chance.

Marlon Wayans plays an FBI agent from the Boston office who was more of a cameo rather than a real part but it was so worth it to see him and it wasn't waste film--he was good. Along with him was Michael Rappaport (Paul Moretti in The Mob Doctor, Danny Hanson in Boston Public) who played Mullins' brother. Another Cameo that made my blink at the screen going NO WAY! was Joey McKintyre from New Kids on the Block.

This movie is perfect for a girl's night or a date night. Or if you're like me and just want to get away from real life for a an hour and a half and laugh your butt off.

Hugs,
Kato

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

I Do - Yes please

**This film is LGBT**

I'd just finished watching big Eden for the hundredth time and was looking for something to watch. I couldn't figure out what I wanted so I began trolling the Wolfe Video website hoping to get an idea of what I wanted to see. I found one called Saltwater but when I went to this website that you can get movies VOD - you pay a fee and you can stream the movie for seven days then the link expires- and to my horror this website doesn't take paypal and though I'm a somewhat trusting person, I did not feel comfortable just handing over my credit card to this site. So then I had to find another website to watch my movies on through VOD that accepted paypal! Took me an hour and I found it. I went back to the Wolfe website and found this movie I Do.

I read the blurb for it--and debated whether I wanted to follow up the feel goodness of big Eden with something that seemed as if it would rip my heart out and stomp on it only to run it over with a bulldozer. I mean, sure, I was being a tad dramatic but sometimes when you watch a really sad movie that's how it leaves you feeling, especially with an ending like Shut Up and Kiss Me. Still, I took a breath, paid my VOD fee and hit play.

The story centers around Jack Edwards (played by David W. Ross- former member of Bad Boys, Inc)
David W. Ross - writer and star of I Do
who is a gay British National living in New York. He works with his lesbian best friend with photographers and makes a pretty good living. He's happy with his life until tragedy hit and he finds himself playing father to his niece, on the brink of deportation and being put in the position of having to chose between his family or lying to get his green card and possibly face federal prison. Not only that, he drew his best friend Ali (played by Jamie-Lynn Sigler, Natalie in Ugly Betty and herself in Entourage) in, by marrying her to pretend she's his wife so he can get his papers. To make matters worse, right as they marry, Jack meets the love of his life, Mano Alfaro (played by Maurice Compte, Gaff in Breaking bad and Chatto in Choke.Kick.Girl: The Series). 

I thought well, this is going to be another badly acted gay movie about some guy who can't get his crap together and it's going to wind up having a crappy ending to leave me thinking Well, there's an hour and a half of my life I'll never get back! But boy was I wrong. To top off a very intriguing story that touched on Gay Equality Rights, and the horrible things one can say to another after guilt forces them to be silent for years, I was fanning my face like a moron saying don't cry! Don't cry! I couldn't help it. Jack just kept having one horrible day after another. Think about it. You're finally forced to marry someone and then finds Mr (or Mrs) Right, the very next moment! How sucky would that be?

Maurice Compte
Mano has his own demons that will shock and anger you then make you feel as if you just want to hold him until he feels better and those demons go away.

I Do was brilliantly acted. The music was stunning the scenery perfection and the script, though some parts could use a little tweaking, was amazing. The emotions coming off the screen left me crying and laughing out loud at times. Sometimes I found myself getting so caught up in the movie I wanted to reach through the screen and strangle Ali (Jack's best friend) and then shake Jack's Sister in Law Mya (played by Alicia Witt, Rosalind Harker in The Mentalist).

The secondary characters were all necessary and lend an air of authenticity to the film that was breath-taking. At one point I found myself muttering repeatedly "No no no! Don't do that! Just walk away man! Walk....away!" during one of Jack's interaction with a secondary character.

This movie will pull you in from the first first sound of Jack's voice the moment the movie begins. Though it it will break your heart, it will not leave you disappointed. It will make you want to really look forward to anything else David W Ross may decide to pen in the future. I was pleasantly surprised at this, his first go at it and couldn't stop watching, even for a bathroom break. I Do is one of the BEST LGBT movies I've seen thus far and it gives me a renewed hope that soon, we'll be able to see more.

Oh! And before I forget, Grant Bowler, Chief Lawkeeper Joshua Nolan in Defiance - a hot show here in Canada on SHOWCASE TV, is in it for a brief moment. He plays Jack's brother Peter.


Grant Bowler - plays Jack's brother, Peter.



Hugs,
Kato

PS: please check out Grant Bowler in DEFIANCE on Showcase TV if you're in Canada! All others can watch it on SyFy - The new season doesn't begin until June of 2014 (oh the horror!) so you have time to get caught up on all it's end of world-ie goodness.  Also visit DEFIANCE's official website by clicking HERE.


Sunday, July 21, 2013

Shut up and Kiss Me

**this is a LGBT movie**

Ben (Ronnie Kerr) is tired of one night stands and stupid men. He is looking for more, stability, monogamy. He's 35 and is looking for something of substance. This movie follows his trials and tribulations on his search for Mr. Right.

Where do I start with this movie? Okay, lets start with Ronnie Kerr (NYPD Blue, Vampire Boys 2) is a very good looking man, I have to put that out there and while I adored this movie, I have to say he could have given a little extra effort. He doesn't seem to be good at the back and forth dialogue as some of it gets lost in his facial expression but when it comes to sadness, he is spot on--and let me tell you there is a lot of heartbreak in this one.   So the movie startsout with Ben at a dating service advertise himself for a new man. Then his best friends get to sit in and and its a riot hearing their back and forth.  I laughed until I couldn't breathe at the montage of men he found from the dating service - from a pre-op who thought Ben wasn't his type, to a goth decked out in all black with black eyeliner and outfit and lipstick and a 17 year old pretending to be 24. Then he tried online dating which didn't end well either. 

He'd all but given up when he sees Grey, played by Scott Gabelein (The Fallen, Paradox Alice) jogging by him while he's watering his lawn. Let the stalking from the front lawn begins! 

Ronnie Kerr
From there its a lovely, funny tale of lust at first sight and the best friends forcing Ben to step out of his box and actually talk to Grey rather than watching him like a stalker from the front lawn.

The acting after this gets progressively better becauase not only is it funny but they begin getting into some hard topics like infidelity and HIV. Now where the movie takes on a drastic turn--I'm a romance writer myself and after my two character meets each other I try desperately not to let them sleep with anyone else. Grey has this iss with monogamy that Ben can't seem to get over. Which makes sense **spoiler alert** and when Grey cheats not once but twice - it breaks Ben's heart.

What I have an issue with is the ending. They go the whole movie with Ben refusing to settle for some man who can't keep it in his pants even going to therapy for it.  He talks about how he deserves more than a man who cheats on him and sudenly WHAM! All of a sudden, in the last two minutes of the movie, he's cool with it. He accepts Grey and is man-whoring ways and all is right with the world. I'm sorry I cannot accept that ending. There was no explanation leading up to it, no nothing. It was like poof! it never happened.
Scott Gabelien

This movie is okay. It's quaint and cute and funny in some parts. If I had to give it stars I'd give it a three stars and thats because the secondary characters were a hoot to watch--if I was being truly generous I'd stretch it to a three and a half star movie since Ronnie was so yummy but ugh. there were dialogue that was repeated so many times I wanted to scream. The ending just ruined the whole thing for me - UGH.

Hugs,
Kato